Stations of the Cross (Banawa, Cebu City)

Holy Week is a sacred time of the year for Christians. During Lenten Season, we commemorate the life, death and resurrection of Jesus.


For most Cebuanos, it is our tradition to reflect on the passion and death of Jesus by procession, or by going to The Way of the Cross in Banawa, Cebu City. I was so amazed when I first went to this place because of the life-size statues and breathtaking views. This blog post will only focus on the 14 Stations of the Cross. To my friends who asked me about the place, I made a separate post with the travel guide and some of the pictures.

Station I: Jesus is condemned to death


Station II: Jesus carries His cross

Station III: Jesus falls for the first time

Station IV: Jesus meets His mother Mary

Station V: Simon helps Jesus carry His cross

Station VI: Veronica wipes the face of Jesus

Station VII: Jesus falls for the second time

Station VIII: Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem

Station IX: Jesus falls for the third time

Station X: Jesus is stripped of His clothing

Station XI: Jesus is nailed to the cross – the Crucifixion

Station XII: Jesus dies on the cross

Station XIII: The body of Jesus is taken down from the cross

Station XIV: Jesus is laid in the tomb

For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life. Have a blessed week!

Leave a Reply